¡Bienvenidos!

Welcome to this new school year and to Spanish at Pinkerton. I am very excited to begin exposing our learners to the Spanish language and the culture of Spanish speaking countries.

A little bit about myself: 

My name is Narda Holguin (Señora Holguín) and this is my second year at Pinkerton Elementary as the Spanish Teacher/ESL facilitator. I also now serve Mockingbird Elementary as their ESL facilitator as well.  I am from a small town called Cananea in the state of Sonora, Mexico. I obtained my Bachelor’s and Master’s degree from the University of Texas at El Paso (Go Miners!).

I have worked at Dallas ISD for seven years and Irving ISD for one year as a Bilingual and Gen. Ed. teacher. I loved teaching all subjects but Language Arts are very near and dear to my heart.

Spanish in the PYP
All students at an IB World School receive instruction to learn a second language. At Pinkerton Elementary the chosen language is Spanish.

Exposure to other languages serves as a doorway to understanding different cultures and new ways of looking at the world.

Pinkerton learners from all grade levels will receive Spanish instruction once a week.Time will increase as age does due to longer attention span and focus.

  • K-1: 30 min per week
  • 2-3: 45 min per week
  • 4-5: 60 min per week

Curriculum
Pinkerton Elementary, being an IB school, is the only school in the district that teaches Spanish as an enrichment class to all their learners. Therefore, I often refer to several important resources to create the best experience for our learners. These resources include, but are not limited to: IB PYP Language Scope and Sequence, Descubre el Español by Santillana, and the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL).

Resources

I have a blog! Yes, many of you did not know I have a blog where I try to upload weekly summaries of what went on in our classes. I have also added tabs for Spanish apps, vocabulary practice, resources for home, songs, and an overview of what every grade level should learn. Please visit my blog and leave comments! I would love to hear more from you.

https://pinkyspanishpyp.wordpress.com/

I hope this helps all of you in understanding what your children will be learning during Spanish at Pinkerton. I can’t wait to get started. If you need to contact me please email me at nholguin@coppellisd.com, or follow me on twitter: @pinkyspanish1.

¡Muchas gracias!

Sra. Holguin

Leave a Reply

